Posted by mravel in SWF Studio V3 on Dec 04 2008, 11:53 am

Hi,

I'm a newbie with ADO and have been trying out for quite a few days to figure it out. The examples on the site seem to complex for a newbie and couldn't figure things out after searching the forums either. I've figured out how to use INSERT, UPDATE & DELETE but cant figure how to use setSQL to retrieve and populate onscreen textfields from a database.

I have a input text field named "fullname" and a button on the first frame

Here my code.

On frame 1.
ssCore.init();

// ============================================================
// Setup our connection and return data format.
// ============================================================
ssCore.ADO.setConnectString({connectString: "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0; Persist Security Info=False; Data Source=" + ssGlobals.ssStartDir + "\\example2.mdb;"});
ssCore.ADO.setTable({name: "DocName"});

ssCore.ADO.setRowFormat({format: "DLM"});
ssCore.ADO.setDelimiter({delimiter: "\t"});
ssCore.ADO.setSeparator({separator: "\n"});

ssCore.ADO.setSQL({sql:"SELECT * FROM DocName"});
// Open the database/table defined above.
ssCore.ADO.open();

CODE on the Button

on (press) {

_level0.fullname.text = _level0.currentRecord.FName;
ssCore.ADO.moveNext();

}

Keep getting undefined in the textfield on pressing the button. Pl help.

Posted by northcode in SWF Studio V3 on Dec 04 2008, 01:43 pm

SWF Studio can't magically populate _level0.currentRecord and break it out into fields for you. You need to call ssCore.ADO.getRows() and parse the results (according to the row format and delimiter options you provided).

Posted by mravel in SWF Studio V3 on Dec 04 2008, 03:36 pm

Can you post some code with that above comment.

I got to var return_obj = ssCore.ADO.getRows(); but how do i parse the results after that? (eg for a table that has fields ID and FName)