Posted by slick_o_matic in SWF Studio V3 on Oct 28 2008, 11:25 pm

Hi all,

I am brand new to this app, and I am on a crunch to save a file from a CD Demo to the desktop. There will be a total of 20 files that the user will select through the Flash interface, and they will click a Download button to save. I would ultimately like the Save Dialogue to pop up, with Desktop selected as the target location, but if that is too tricky, just a Save Dialogue will be fine, or even just the copy file action.

Can someone please help me with this? I have code for the target doc to be saved set as fileTarget.

Thanks,
slick

Posted by northcode in SWF Studio V3 on Oct 29 2008, 01:28 am

This should do it. I've attached a ZIP file with a work FLA (version 8) and the SPF and SWF files. Just load the project into SWF Studio and press the Build button to see it in action.

ssCore.init();
ssDefaults.synchronousCommands = true;

save_btn.onRelease = function()
{
   var r = ssCore.App.showFolderBrowser({title:"Select a folder", path:"desktop://"});

if (r.success)
   {
      if (r.result == "")
         ssDebug.trace("no folder selected");
      else
         saveFilesToLocation(r.result); 
   }
   else
   {
      ssDebug.trace("error selecting path: " + r.Error.description);
   }
}

function saveFilesToLocation(path:String)
{
   // this is where you would add code to save the files 
   // that the user selected to the path parameter
   ssCore.App.showMsgBox({prompt:"copy files to \"" + path + "\" here"});
}
The path parameter to App.showFolderBrowser allows you to select the start location. If you leave it out you'll get the Windows default. The desktop:// value I passed is a file moniker. They are like shortcuts to common folder locations that SWF Studio will resolve to the correct location for you (since they could be different on each system).

attachment removed, see newer version below...

Posted by slick_o_matic in SWF Studio V3 on Oct 29 2008, 11:37 am

Thank you, Tim