Posted by andrecp in SWF Studio V3 on Jan 10 2008, 12:03 pm

Hi, I'm new to SWFStudio but I'm trying to create an app that interacts with an ActiveX control. I decided using JScript would probably be the way to go, but I can't even get the basic examples working with JScript.

For example, I've tried creating a one-line script.js file with just this line:
jsCommand("Win.minimize",{});

But when I run this code in my Flex app's InitApp() function it pops up with a syntax error.

ssCore.init();
ssDefaults.synchronousCommands = true;
ssCore.Script.create({module:"module", language:"jscript"});

var r = ssCore.Script.loadCode({module:"module", path:"C:\\flashphone\\script.js"});

if (r.success == false) 
{
   ssCore.App.showMsgBox({prompt:"load failed: " + r.Error.description});
   ssCore.App.quit({});
}

var r = ssCore.module.main({});

if (r.success == false) 
{
   ssCore.App.showMsgBox({prompt:r.Error.code + " " + r.Error.description});
   ssCore.App.quit({});   

I'm not sure if I did something wrong, or if there's some issue using JScript with a Flex app (The only examples I've seen were for flash apps). However I did have some success with the Word ActiveX JScript example from another post, it would get past the first if block of the AS code but not the second.

I'm also wondering if there's any way to get more detail about JS syntax or runtime errors, for example the line number?

Thanks in advance.

Posted by andrecp in SWF Studio V3 on Jan 10 2008, 12:46 pm

Ok I think I fixed it by removing everything after the first if block in the as code.

Still having some issues with ActiveX though but I'll dig some more.

Posted by mbd in SWF Studio V3 on Jan 10 2008, 02:26 pm

There's a split in functionality for JScript in 3.5. AS1/AS2 projects won't change. AS3 projects will need to have the JScript code updated. The ActionScript code doesn't change.